Tags

, , , ,

Plastic dough scraperI bought one of these for the first time about six months ago. It only cost about £1.50, and has paid for itself many times over, as it is just so useful in so many ways. I was so pleased with it that I almost immediately threw all financial caution to the wind and bought another one. I did this because I thought I would feel lost if anything happened to the first one, but as it turned out, two can work together quite effectively as well.

So what can you do can you do with this wonder tool? Well, and there may well be more:

  • Obviously, you can scrape your work surface clean. The advantage of it being plastic is that it will not scratch the surface in the process.
  • You can mix dough with it. A combination of scraping and cutting with the scraper, whilst turning the bowl works very well.
  • You can scrape dough out of the bowl onto the work surface, leaving the bowl almost spotlessly clean.
  • When working with a wet dough, where bits tend to stick all over the place, you can easily gather them all back together.
  • If you scatter a very little flour around your dough, you can quickly slide the scraper under it all around to help form the dough into a ball.
  • You can divide dough up. I have even used it to split fougasse, but you couldn’t use it to slash the top of a loaf (nothing is perfect!).
  • If you have two, you can use them to scrape each other clean.

There are lots of varieties of scrapers on the market. Mine came from amazon. Features to look out for when buying yours include:

  • At least one well rounded edge, as this really makes scraping out bowls, and mixing dough much easier.
  • Cutting edges. These are slightly bevelled.

I’ve never owned a traditional metal scraper, and I don’t think I ever will now. I just don’t feel the lack of it.